Mount Franklin Challenge kicks off


It is crunch time for teams who have qualified for the 2014 Mount Franklin Challenge after a grueling grading weekend with competition starting Thursday March 20 at the Hibiscus Sports Centre at Mt Gravatt.

Fifty-three teams will battle it out over 18 rounds plus finals in the 16 Years, 19 Years and open divisions to see who will be crowned challenge champions.

The Mount Franklin Challenge competition provides a representative platform for Netball Queensland registered Associations within southeast Queensland to develop players, coaches and umpires.

The competition also provides a pathway from Association level Netball through to the Mission Queensland State Netball League and Queensland Champions Cup competitions.

The Mount Franklin Challenge consists of two divisions of nine teams in the 16 Years and opens, the 19 Years division however, has nine teams in division one and eight teams in division two.

Netball Queensland Competitions Coordinator Nikita Hellmuth said competition within the Mount Franklin Challenge is tough.

“The Mount Franklin Challenge is enormously popular and features some of the best netballers from southeast Queensland,” she said.

“Each week teams compete in a round-robin format and every year the standard of play rises.”

“It gives local talented players the opportunity to play weekly representative netball over and above their club competitions and as serves as a feeder for MQSNL and QCC,”

All matches during the 2014 Mount Franklin Challenge season will be played at the Hibiscus Sports Centre, 90 Klumpp Rd, Mt Gravatt every Thursday and Friday evenings with 6.30pm, 8pm and 9.30pm time slots.

Click here for a copy of the draw or go to for more information.


25 Associations competing in the Mount Franklin Challenge:

Caloundra NA
Downey Park
Hinterland Districts
Logan City
Macgregor NA
Metropolitian Districts
North GC
Pine Rivers
Shailer Park
South Brisbane Strikers
South Coast
Southport Carrara
Sunshine Coast
Underwood Park NA