Schools gear up for Vicki Wilson Cup finals

Queensland’s best school netball sides will do battle across 48 games at Coomera Indoor Sports Centre this Saturday 8 to Sunday 9 October for the prestigious Vicki Wilson Cup.

The final weekend of competition comes after 205 nominated teams were whittled down to just 16 finalists through months of local competition, with 192 athletes now focused on snaring the biggest prize in Queensland school netball with their teammates.

New Zealand Silver Ferns legend and Netball Queensland General Manager of Community and Sport Development Leigh Gibbs said the eventual tournament winner will have conquered the largest pool of entrants ever nominated for the tournament.

“This year’s Vicki Wilson Cup has been the biggest ever, with more than 3000 athletes across 10 regions taking to the courts,” Gibbs said.

“Each of the final teams has come a long way just to reach this point and given the hurdles already overcome, we expect this final series to be one of the most hotly contested in competition history.

“We can’t wait to see these sides battle it out to be crowned state champions. It will be an unforgettable achievement that one team will remember forever.”

Teams will be seeded and play off in four pools to start the tournament, with the top two from each advancing to quarter finals and the bottom four dropping out to play off for places nine to 16.

Gibbs said the format would spark some thrilling opening match-ups and ensure each team had something to play for right until the end of play on day two.

“Whether you finish first or last in your pool, you will have something to play for on day two,” she said.

“History has shown in this tournament that school pride brings out the best of all the competitors and we expect thrilling play-offs from the bottom to the top of the card.”

Entry to the Vicki Wilson Cup finals at Coomera Indoor Sports Centre is free. The competition runs on Saturday from 8.30am to 5pm and Sunday from 8am to 3pm. The grand final will be played at 2pm on Sunday with  Vicki Wilson on hand to present the cup to the 2016 champion team.

2016 finalists: Wavell State High School, St Rita’s College, John Paul College, All Hallows School, St Peter Claver College, Ipswich Girls Grammar School, Centenary Heights State High School, Fairholme College, Matthew Flinders Anglican College, Mountain Creek State High School, Somerset College, Palm Beach Currumbin State High School, Nanango State High School, The Cathedral College, Bentley Park College, St Margaret Mary’s College.