Elite Development Squad 2019

The EDP squad has been selected following the Australian Netball League and National Netball Championships, observation of the Queensland State Netball League, feedback from the coaches of the three Queensland teams, along with detailed analysis of the Netball Queensland’s depth charts by the Talent Management Panel consisting of Firebirds coaching staff, Roselee Jencke, Jenny Brazel, Tracey Fear and General Manager – Performance and Competitions, Richard McInnes

Players have been selected based on three criteria:

  1. Nationally Talent Identified, or
  2. Identified as a player to provide short term back up to the Firebirds squad, and/or
  3. Identified as a special project player

The Elite Development Program will be delivered over three years and will holistically prepare the athlete for the rigours of elite netball, both on and off the court.  The squad will be reviewed annually and players within the squad will be at various stages of the three-year program.  Progression will be based on growth and development potential.

The squad sees the return of former Australian Diamond, Chanel Gomes and includes current Lorna Jane Queensland Firebirds training partners Alexia Baker, Tippah Dwan, Ashlie Unie, Annabella Sorby, Maddison Hinchliffe, Amy Sommerville and Macy Gardner.

New inclusions for 2018/19 are Ruby Bakewell-Doran, Reilley Batcheldor, Rylee Burns, Madison Cooley, Lily Gribble, Abigail Houston, Heidi Osborne and Amy Sommerville. The squad also includes regionally based athletes in Georgia Cox (Townsville) and Rachel Faanana (Cairns).

NQ Performance Pathways Manager, Tracey Fear will oversee the program while Jenny Brazel will remain as Head Coach, supported by Callum Koch (Physical Performance Manager) and Belinda Weder (HP Officer).


First Name Surname Suburb QSNL Club
Alexia Baker Virginia Tigers
Ruby Bakewell-Doran Ashgrove Cougars
Reilley Batcheldor Helensvale Jags
Charlie Bell* Chelmer Lions
Rylee Burns Casuarina Jags
Bridey Condren* Mackay Lions
Madison Cooley* Moorooka Tigers
Georgia Cox Kirwan Steelcats
Tippah Dwan* St Lucia Lions
Rachel Faanana Woree Marlins
Macy Gardner* Greenslopes Lynx
Chanel Gomes Helensvale Lynx
Shenae Grant Coomera Tigers
Lily Gribble* Bulimba Tigers
Maddison Hinchliffe Bridgeman Downs Cougars
Rylie Holland Alexandra Hills Cougars
Abigail Houston* Palm Beach Jags
Grace Hughes Raceview Lions
Leah Middleton Molendinar Tigers
Leesa MiMi* Wellington Point Wildcats
Heidi Osborne Currimundi Tigers
Amy Sommerville Bulimba Lynx
Annabella Sorby Buderim Cougars
Mia Stower Toowoomba Lynx
Ashlee Unie Buderim Lions
Lia Woolnough Yeronga Lions


*Members of the Netball Australia Centre of Excellence Programs