First Netball Queensland Academy squad announced


Netball Queensland is excited to announce the inaugural squad for the Netball Queensland Academy Program in 2015.

Athletes throughout all of Queensland aged 14-16 years could nominate to trial for the Regional Academy Program and Netball Queensland had an overwhelming response with more than 500 athletes trialing.

In January the regional academy squads come together in Brisbane for an elite training camp where they were fitness tested and put through their paces.

After a gruelling camp that consisted of specialist coaching from a host of former and current coaches such as former Australian Coach Jill McIntosh and Firebirds coaching staff, head Coach Roselee Jencke and Assistant Coach Jenny Brazel along with current Elite Development Coach Kylee Byrne and current State 19U Coach and NQ Academy Coach Christine Voge.

The weekend culminated into an intensive day of match play to select the top 30 talented athletes watched by a host of well-known former national players such as Nicole Cusak, Lauren Nurse, Jo Morgan and even a former Silver Fern great Sheryl Scanlan.

The 30 talent identified athletes will have one-on-one sessions with Head Coach Christine Voge and will take part in a monitored program following the Netball Australia Develop a Diamond Academy Curriculum.

The Netball Queensland Academy squad, which is the additional super layer of elite development will comprise of the following athletes:

Sarah Earl – Brisbane East                                  (Metropolitian & Districts)
Macy Gardner – Brisbane East                            (Metropolitian & Districts)
Ashleigh Keefe – Brisbane East                           (Metropolitian & Districts)
Tiana Kohlhase – Brisbane East                          (Metropolitian & Districts)
Keely Mak – Brisbane East                                  (Metropolitian & Districts)
Imogen Moormann – Brisbane East                    (Metropolitian & Districts)
Ruby Bakewell-Doran – Brisbane North               (Downey Park)
Emma Lister – Brisbane North                             (Brisbane)
Kate Lister – Brisbane North                                (Brisbane)
Emalee Sammons – Brisbane North                     (Brisbane)
Chelsea Windsor – Brisbane North                       (Downey Park)
Brianna Gregory – Brisbane South                       (Underwood Park)
Taylor Hemana – Brisbane South                         (Underwood Park)
Chynna Leota – Brisbane South                           (Logan)
Kaila Truter – Brisbane South                               (Shailer Park)
Rebekah Rounds – Brisbane West                       (Western Districts)
Shenae Grant – Capricorn                                    (Emerald)
Christina McLure – Capricorn                              (Biloela)
Sarah Ogden – Darling Downs                              (Toowoomba)
Mia Stower – Darling Downs                                 (Highfields & Districts)
Ebony Aston – Golden South                                (Tweed)
Jessica Donnelly – Golden South                          (Northern Gold Coast)
Charlie Duke – Golden South                                (Tweed Heads)
Rosie Gale – Golden South                                    (Tweed Heads)
Rosalie Baker – Magnetic North                             (Townsville)
Perri Bright – Suncoast                                         (Caloundra)
Darcy Goss – Suncoast                                         (Sunshine Coast)
Maddison Grant – Suncoast                                  (Sunshine Coast)
Mystic MacLeod – Suncoast                                 (Sunshine Coast)
Bridey Condren – Whitsunday                               (Mackay)

The Regional Academy Program squads for 2015, in all 12 regions across the state, will be led by the following Coaches and Managers.

Marlin Coast
Coach: Kelly Hynes
Manager: Narelle Harris

Magnetic North
Coach: Angela Cooper
Manager: Charmian McKean

Coach: Ian Cameron
Manager: Wendy Baynton

Coach: Barb Ahmat
Manager: Shari Hancox

Coach: Sarah Murfett
Manager: Jo Peterson

Coach: Sarah Murfett
Manager: Therese Tati

Brisbane North
Coach: Michaela O’Connor
Manager: Vacant

Brisbane East
Coach: Erin Byrnes
Manager: Vacant

Brisbane South
Coach: Carynne Robinson
Manager: Donna Pannowitz

Brisbane West
Coach: Katie Shailer
Manager: Vacant

Darling Downs
Coach: Rebecca Stower
Manager: Leona Collins

Golden South
Coach: Sheryl Burns
Manager: Gayle Rust