Queensland U21 State team success


The Netball Queensland U21 State team has come away from a successful National titles campaign in Adelaide finishing fourth and with two players selected in the National Identification squad.

Coach Jenny Brazel said the team built on last year’s performance making the semi finals against NSW where it was defeated 70-28.

Talented shooter Beryl Friday and mid-court dynamo Madeline McAuliffe were chosen after showcasing their talents at the tournament, also included in the squad is Mission Queensland Firebirds young gun Kim Ravaillion and former Queensland player Gretel Tippett.

Vice-captain Friday missed the playoff game for third spot against NSW along with fellow shooter Jemmason Power, both out due to injury which was a huge blow to Queensland after a week of solid performances.

The opening minutes of the first quarter were tight, in a fast paced game where a number of bodies went to ground as all players worked to the best of their ability.

Queensland looked better at the start of the second and goal shooter Claudia Jones sunk some fantastic shots however at half-time, it was NSW which had extended their lead to 22 goals.

The third quarter began rather fiery with Queensland refusing to give in.

Queensland’s defense in Aldora Tulua, Kate Dudley and Madeline Walsh were receiving a tough work out but had some wonderful pickups and caused numerous turnovers.

Unfortunately Queensland was unable to capitalise and NSW led by 32 goals at three-quarter time a difference that Queensland could not be pulled back.

Ultimately it was NSW who played the better netball overall and ran away with the win.


Queensland shooting stats
Claudia Jones 21/32 (66%)
Lauren Sculley 4/6 (50%)
Stephanie O’Brien 4/8 (50%)


The Australian U21 squad is:

Gia Abernathy (SA/Adelaide Thunderbirds), Kelly Altmann (SA), Kristina Brice (NSW), Courtney Bruce (WA/West Coast Fever), Taylah Davies (NSW/NSW Swifts), Beryl Friday (QLD), Sarah Klau (SA), Cody Lange (SA/Adelaide Thunderbirds), Chelsea Lemke (SA), Madeline McAuliffe (QLD), Emily Mannix (VIC), Kristiana Manu’a (NSW), Kate Moloney (VIC/Melbourne Vixens), Madeleine Proud (SA/Adelaide Thunderbirds), Kim Ravaillion (NSW/Queensland Firebirds), Kaylia Stanton (WA/West Coast Fever), Gretel Tippett (QLD/NSW Swifts), Maddy Turner (SA), Georgie Virgo (SA), Chloe Watson (VIC), Elizabeth Watson (VIC/Melbourne Vixens), Joanna Weston (VIC/Melbourne Vixens).