Queensland underage squads selected

Netball Queensland has announced the two 24-player training squads who will vie for state 17 and under and 19 and under representation in 2017.

The squads were selected following a four-day camp in late September that saw talent identified emerging players work with Netball Queensland’s high performance coaches.

Netball Queensland General Manager of High Performance Richard McInnes said the squad would assemble in early 2017 for further rounds of training and selection refinement.

“On behalf of Netball Queensland, I’d like to congratulate all of these athletes on being selected to their respective state squads,” McInnes said.

“The amount of talent on show during our emerging players camp was remarkable and our selectors had an incredibly tough time whittling the numbers down.

“Though a remarkable achievement on its own, those selected know the hard work now begins. We expect a competitive and productive early 2017 as these girls put their best foot forward and attempt to progress to the top 16.”

The 17 and under and 19 and under training squads will assemble for a weekend camp on 14 January and train weekly on each Sunday following, before completing a second weekend camp on 11 February where the squad will be reduced to 12 plus training partners.

The final teams will represent Queensland at their respective 2017 National Netball Championship – platforms that contributed to the emergence of past and present Queensland Firebirds stars Mahalia Cassidy, Laura Clemesha, Kimberley Jenner, Abigail Latu-Meafou, Jemma Mi Mi, Beryl Friday and Hulita Haukinima.

Queensland 17 and under training squad

Belinda Boyce (Ellen Grove), Brianna Gregory (Daisy Hill), Charlie Bell (Chelmer), Christina McLure (Biloela), Elise Gosdschan (Bulimba), Hannah Le Sage (Shailer Park), Heidi Osborne (Currimundi), Jesse Wardlaw (Shailer Park), Josephine Bingham (Oxley), Lauren Bella (Sarina), Leesa Mi Mi (Wellington Point), Lia Woolnough (Yeronga), Lisa Dreyer (Pullenvale), Macy Gardner (Greenslopes), Mia Stower (Toowoomba), Nancy Alu (Carindale), Nandia Els (Eatons Hill), Nicole Guenther (Woodford), Olivia McDermid (Toowoomba), Rhianna Bevege (Elanora), Sarah Earl (Morningside), Sarahpheinna Woulf (Richlands), Vivienne Fitzpatrick (Buderim), Willow Gale (Varsity Lakes).

Queensland 19 and under training squad

Alexia Baker (Virginia), Annabella Sorby (Buderim), Binnian Hunt (Deception Bay), Bridey Condren (Mackay), Bridget Franettovich (Sarina), Danielle Taylor (Willawong), Emma Peacock (Clayfield), Isabella Macdonald (The Narrows), Jada Gafa (Robina), Jessica Donnelly (Upper Coomera), Jessie O’Rourke (Wongawallan), Jordan Ngarimu (Eagleby), Kate Lister (Wavell Heights), Kimberley Jenner (Annandale), Lillian Gray (Annerley), Maddison Hinchliffe (Bridgeman Downs), Rachel Herne (Caniaba), Rosalie Baker (Pimlico), Rosie Gale (Varsity Lakes), Rylie Holland (Alexandra Hills), Samantha Ryan (Victoria Point), Shanelle Tolley (Sanctuary Cove), Shenae Grant (Coomera), Tara Hinchliffe (Bridgeman Downs), Tippah Dwan (St Lucia).