Underage State Teams Announced

The Netball Queensland Underage State Teams have been announced following the final selection trials held last weekend at Caloundra.


The athletes undergo a three stage process before team selection, including the Trial Weekend, Phase 2 Development Weekend and Final Selection Weekend.


High Performance General Manager Richard McInnes commends the strength and talent displayed among the athletes over the three weekends.


“The selection process was very challenging, indicating a growing depth of talent within the NQ pathway.” he said.


“This is particularly pleasing at the 21 and Under level where there were a good number of players vying for selection.”


The Queensland Underage State Teams are an opportunity for athletes from all over Queensland to experience the next level of netball and compete in the National Netball Championships against Australia’s best.


“Numerous Associations are represented in these teams, including Sunshine Coast, Downey Park, Qld Catholic, Caboolture, Logan City, Southport Carrara, Pine Rivers, Jimboomba, Metropolitan Districts, Underwood Park, Mackay, Tweed, South Coast, Northern Gold Coast, Brisbane, Western Districts, Emerald, Highfields and Toowoomba.” McInnes said.


McInnes reinforces the importance of the continued development of the 12 athletes in each team, as well as the four training partners.


“Four training partners have been identified for each squad who will continue to train and prepare with the squads in the lead up to the NNC, to continue their development as well as provide sufficient cover for each position in the team.”


Queensland 21 & Under State Team

Ashlee Unie

Ashlen Garrett

Bianca Cattelini

Cara Koenen

Dominique Scott

Hulita Haukinima

Kristen Oxenford

Leah Middleton

Mahalia Cassidy

Rebecca Hong

Billie Gur

Abigail Latu-Meafou

Training Partners

Aldora Tuala

Briony Payne

Jemma Mi Mi

Josephine Hungerford


Queensland 19 & Under State Team

Annabella Sorby

Bryah Gafa

Clare Frost

Esther Mauga

Mia Henderson

Courtney Murphy

Emma Cook

Kimberley Jenner

Maddison Hinchliffe

Matika Laycock

Rylie Holland

Tara Hinchliffe

Training Partners

Danielle Taylor

Savanah Vasilakis

Emma Peacock

Kari Arrow


Queensland 17 & Under State Team

Brianna Gregory

Bridey Condren

Ebony Aston

Jada Gafa

Jessica Donnelly

Kate Lister

Macy Gardner

Romy Battensby

Rosie Gale

Sarahpheinna Woulf

Shenae Grant

Tippah Dwan

Training Partners

Charlie Duke

Elise Gosdschan

Mia Stower

Sarah Ogden


The 2016 21U National Netball Championships will be held in Launceston, Tasmania from 8-13 March, 2016. The 2016 17U & 19U National Netball Championships will be held in Perth, Western Australia from 12-17 April, 2016.


Click here for more information