High excitement for High Tea netball awards!

With just over two weeks until the Netball Queensland High Tea Awards celebration, the winner’s envelopes have all been sealed.

Netball Queensland CEO Anna Carroll said a highlight is the announcement of the awards for the volunteer, coach and umpire of the year who are nominated by peers, players and committees and chosen by a panel.

“We have some incredible contributors to the sport of netball in Queensland and it is so wonderful to be able to recognise each year, the volunteer, coach and umpire that have been working tirelessly behind the scenes and sometimes away from the courts,” Carroll said.

“On top of those awards we also have six most valuable player trophies with the most outstanding athletes in the Queensland Fusion, Netball Queensland 17/U, 19/U and 21/U teams honoured for their commitment, teamwork and talent,” she said.

‘As well, the MVP from our premier state-wide competitions, the Queensland Champions Cup and the Mission Queensland State League will be announced. It is a very exciting awards event.”

Only two points separate the leading three contenders for the MVP of the Queensland Champions Cup (QCC).

Lani Tate from Magnetic North Steelcats, had an outstanding season in the centre court, while two goal shooters, Beryl Friday from the Carina Leagues Club Tigers and Abigail Meafou from the Logan Wildcats both had superb seasons under the ring.

It’s a similarly tight tussle at the top in the Mission Queensland State Netball League with four players ahead of the pack in the quest to unearth the MVP for 2014.

Two goal attack players, Alanah Cassidy from Brisbane West Lions and Michaela Kadlecek from the Marlin Coast Marlins are neck and neck with another shooter Claudia Jones from the Kedron Wavell Services Club Cougars and the only defender Lenora Misa from the Logan Wildcats.

45 different players representing all State League teams in the QCC received points for being the best on court while in MQSNL, 77 athletes were singled out for player of the match points. Not one player dominated in either competition.

The 2014 QCC and MQSNL Most Valuable Player’s will be named at the Netball Queensland High Tea Awards celebration on October 18, along with the winners for all the categories.

The Netball Queensland High Tea is open for everyone from the netball community to attend and is a great way to end an amazing season and celebrate 2014 together. Hurry, tickets are limited so book now.

Date: Saturday 18 October

Time: 3:30 to 5:30pm

Location: Indooroopilly Golf Club, Meiers Road, Indooroopilly

Dress: Smart Casual

Tickets are $50 and include champagne on arrival, a decadent array of petite sweets and savouries, and endless tea and coffee.

Ticket bookings close on Thursday 9th October and can be made online here – http://www.trybooking.com/102125.


2014 Volunteer of the Year Award Shortlist

Lyn Law, Mackay NA

Margaret McGuire, Metropolitan District NA

Wendy Roberts, Redlands NA


2014 Coach of the Year Award Shortlist

Kylee Byrne, Queensland Fusion Head Coach

Margie Sugars, Brisbane West Lions

Christine Voge, Queensland 19/U State Team Head Coach


2014 Umpire of the Year Award Shortlist

Natasha Meyer, Charters Towers NA

Lesley Musch, Western Districts NA

Ashleigh Stevenson, Metropolitan District NA


2014 17/U State Team MVP

Abigail Meafou-Latu

Kari Arrow

Lenora Misa


2014 19/U State Team MVP

Cara Koenen

Hulita Haukinima

Bianca Catellini


2014 21/U State Team MVP

Stephanie O’Brien

Claudia Jones

Madeline McAuliffe


2014 Queensland Fusion MVP

Stephanie Wood

Gretel Tippet

Madeline McAuliffe


2014 QCC Most Valuable Player Shortlist

Beryl Friday – Carina Leagues Club Tigers

Abigail Meafou – Logan Wildcats

Lani Tate – Magnetic North Steelcats


2014 MQSNL Most Valuable Player Shortlist

Alanah Cassidy – Brisbane West Lions

Claudia Jones – Kedron Wavell Services Club Cougars

Michaela Kadlecek – Marlin Coast Marlins

Lenora Misa – Logan Wildcats