Queensland State teams for 2015

U19grand final

Netball Queensland has selected its next crop of elite netballers to compete at the National Netball Championships in 2015.

The 17U, 19U and 21U Queensland State teams were finalised after the athletes were put through their paces over the weekend in the final section process.

The future Firebirds have gone through a rigorous section process that began in September that involved three selection and development weekends aimed at selecting the strongest possible teams and ensuring all athletes received individual development throughout the process.

High Performance manager Adam Abbott said the depth of talent this year was exceptional across the board.

“The athletes showed increased physical fitness and technical capacity as a result of development work that had been conducted following the 2014 National Netball Championships,” Abbott said.

The 17U team will be again coached by Amanda Vanderwal who took the team to fourth place in 2014 and has five players returning and some fresh faces including sisters Tara and Madison Hinchcliffe from Bridgeman Downs.

Christine Voge will again take the helm of the successful 19U team who took out the National Championship title in August.

Voge will be looking to be the first Queensland coach to win multiple championships and her goal is to bring home back-to-back National Netball Championship trophies to the Sunshine State after her recent success in 2014.

Boosting the 19U chances is the return of star shooter and National Championship MVP, Cara Koenen.

Following the appointment of Jenny Brazel to the Firebirds Assistant Coach role former elite development program coach Tracey Jeanes-Frasers will take the helm of 21U Head Coach.

Securing Mission Queensland Firebirds shooter Beryl Friday, Australian 21U Mahalia Cassidy, 2014 centre of excellence athlete Hulita Haukinima, plus six players from the 2014 19U Championship winning team will give Jeanes-Fraser plenty of combinations to work with.

All Athletes will hit the court January five to begin their National Championship campaigns with the 21U Championship being held in Queensland on the Sunshine Coast in March and the 17U and 19U in Sydney in April.

17U Queensland State Team
Alexia Baker – GA/WA (Virginia)

Claudia Fitzpatrick – WA/C (Hendra)

Clare Frost – GS/GA (Bardon)

Jada Gafa– WA/C (Palm Beach)

Maddison Hinchliffe – WD/C (Bridgeman Downs)

Tara Hinchliffe – GD/GK (Bridgeman Downs)

Rylie Holland – GS/GA (Alexandra Hills)

Binnian Hunt – GS/GA (Deception Bay)

Kimberley Jenner – GK/GD (Annandale)

Julia Robinson – C/WA (Upper Kedron)

Annabella Sorby – GD/WD (Buderim)

Danielle Taylor – GD/GK (Willawong)


Head Coach – Amanda Vanderwal

Assistant Coach – Shaye Gillett

Manager – Elizabeth White


19U Queensland State Team
Georgie Briggs – GA/GS (Relbia)

Emma Cook – GS/GA (Ashgrove)

Bryah Gafa – WD/GD (Palm Beach)

Mia Henderson – GK/GD (Fig Tree Pocket)

Kobe Howard – C/WD (Jimboomba)

Josephine Hungerford – WA/C (Buderim)

Cara Koenen – GS/GA (Taringa)

Abigail Latu-Meafou – GS/GA (Inala)

Chloe Litherland – WD/C (Morayfield)

Ally McLeod – C/WA (Paddington)

Lenora Misa – GD/GK (Woodridge)

Ashlee Unie – GD/WD (Buderim)


Head Coach – Christine Voge

Assistant Coach – Linda Peterson

Manager – Carly Richardson


21U Queensland State Team
Mahalia Cassidy – C/WA (Murrumba Downs)

Bianca Cattelini – GA/WA (Scarborough)

Kate Dudley – GK/GD (Bahrs Scrub)

Beryl Friday – GA/GS (Kelvin Grove)

Hulita Haukinima – GD/WD (Marsden)

Madeline McAuliffe – WD/C (Wishart)

Leah Middleton – GD/GK (Molendinar)

Kristen Oxenford – WD/C (Clear Island Waters)

Briony Payne – GA/WA (Cornubia)

Jemmason Power – GS/GA (Tanah Merah)

Dominique Scott – WA/GA (Burpengary East)

Aldora Tuala – GK/GK (Browns Plains)


Head Coach – Tracey Jeanes Fraser

Assistant Coach – Megan Lynch

Manager – Cheryl Scott